Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic is an integral part of the Republic of  Azerbaijan. According to the constitution of the Republic of Azerbaijan adopted on Nov ember 12, 1995 and the constitution of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic adopted on December 29, 1998 Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic is an autonomous state within the Republic of Azerbaijan.

The territory of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic is 5,5 thousand square kilometers and population of 450 thousand (1.06.2017). Composed of the capital city of Nakhchivan and 7 administrative regions. There are 5 cities, 8 settlements and 206 villages.

Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic shares borders withthe Republic of Turkey (14 km), The Islamic Republic of Iran (204 km) and Armenia (246).

More than 1200 ancient historical monuments in the territory of the Autonomous Republic

are of rich cultural heritage of our nation. Having 5 millennium of urban civilization culture, the city of Nakhchivan was declared as the Capital of Islamic Culture in 2018. Ancient history, rich culture, modern development and safe living conditions significantly contributed to the development of tourism sector in Nakhchivan.

Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic is located in the south-east of the Transcaucasian highlands. The average altitude is 1450 meters above sea level. 9 climate zones out of 11 exist in the territory of the Autonomous Republic.

Most of the territory of the Autonomous Republic surrounded by Zangazur and Daralayaz mountains of Lesser Caucasus. Gapijig Mountain (3904 m) is the highest peak. Arazboyu plains cover one third part of the territory of the Autonomous Republic. There are more than 200 mineral springs and about 400 large and small rivers in the region.

The rare fauna and flora of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic if one of the richest ones in the Republic of Azerbaijan. Rare species of flora and fauna have beenincluded the Red Book of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic and are under of special protection.

Specially protected natural territories through Zangazur National Park named after Hasan Aliyev, Shahbuz State Nature Reserve, Ordubad, Arpachay, Arazboyu Sanctuaries cover approximately 28 percent of the territory of the Autonomous Republic.